Art 4205: Blog 2

I feel as though I am guilty of a majority of the pitfalls mentioned. While that is not entirely true, I do see how those could be a reality for young designers. Yet, it is good for a designer to be able to accept that not everyone presentation will be perfect. If a designer practices knowing and recognizing these mistakes, it will be better in the long run.

The pitfalls that I am guilty of right now are: seeing the “client” as someone that I have to please, not getting off my ass, starting with an apology, and reacting to questions as change requests.

While I know I am not my design, I always feel the need to please people. In design, not everyone can be pleased –especially designers– and that it is okay. It is a slow learning process, but a process nonetheless.

Designers need to get off their asses. Over and over again, I have been told that being a good designer is not enough. Part of being a designer is also, having communication skills. It is important as a designer to be confident. When a designer is able to be confident, they can sell their work, even if the design is not perfect.

I over apologize for everything. So starting off with an apology is natural for me. So not apologizing is also, a skill I am having to learn.

Since I am trying to please the client, do not get off my ass and start with apologies, I do take questions as change requests. As the article said, if someone were to ask “why is that blue?” I would say, “Oh my goodness I am so sorry, how would you like me to change it?” NO, that is bad on my part and I cannot do that.

In a student setting, the professor is the client. Students are given the job to complete tasks in a timely and thoughtful manner. Our Professors want to help us feel more comfortable in entering the design world. They let us know what some clients may act in our future endeavors. They want us to achieve their objectives for the class, but also achieve our own personal goals.

This article is very blunt, and I love it. These pitfalls are things that we have been told not do over the past three/four years (thank you professors and upperclassmen). This article still brought forth mistakes that I had not considered. When presenting any kind of work (student or client based) it is important to let that person know what kind of feedback is expected. Another thing, I was not aware of was mentioning typefaces. In design school, we are so accustom to talking about type. In reality, not many clients will care. The only people that truly care about typefaces are other designers. The last piece of information that startled me was Monteiro’s “weird trick” that he professed works every time: knowing the client’s name. I never thought that something so simple could be missed. On the other hand, if a person is nervous a lot can be forgotten.

Mike Monteiro really enforced that idea that when presenting to a client, you need to have the proper design vocabulary and ability to sell your work. I agree with him. Overall, he is telling his audience that these pitfalls are things that might happen. Luckily, Monteiro is helping out designers to learn from his mistakes. There are always to recover and learn new tricks each time we fall short. saymyname_logomark_email1-1-1

Leave a Reply

